The 44 Stars of Excellence Awards acknowledge students, advisors, and recognized student organizations who demonstrate outstanding dedication and commitment to their organization and its mission.  Students, faculty and staff are invited annually to submit nominations for the awards.

Below are the descriptions for each award and the nominees for each category for the 2023 Gala.

2023 Awards for Nomination:

The Award for Positive Advocacy and Awareness
Presented to students and registered student organizations who have been the most effective in promoting social justice and raising awareness for a cause whether on the SU campus or in the greater community, in a timely and relevant manner.  Nominees demonstrate a commitment to continuous self-awareness and broad societal awareness, especially in working with people with marginalized identities.
The Award for Excellence by an Organization Leader
(President, Director, General Manager, or Editor-in-Chief)
Presented to a registered student organization leader who has demonstrated outstanding dedication and service to their student organization. Leaders should not only have enhanced their individual organization but also the Syracuse University community through their leadership and involvement.
Unsung Hero Award
Presented to individuals who have helped their organization achieve success.  This person may not be in a formal leadership position but goes above and beyond what is typical for a general member.
The Award for Diversity and Inclusion
Presented to students and registered student organizations who have demonstrated a sincere commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion by serving as advocates for awareness on campus and in the community.  Nominees intentionally recognize and incorporate intersectionality in their work to better support people in making meaning of their lives, perspectives, and experiences.
The Jason Morales Rising Star Award
Presented to students or registered student organizations who have exhibited significant growth in their work and/or leadership within the last academic year.  Improvements were made through personal leadership growth and development or an organization’s normal operations/ overall programming.
The Award for Public and Community Service
Presented to students and registered student organizations who have exhibited exceptional effort in planning and implementing significant service projects within the University and Syracuse community.
The Award for Outstanding Senior Leadership
Presented to graduating seniors who have demonstrated dedication to developing themselves, others, and the University through their involvement and leadership in the classroom and student organizations. These students are strong academically, active in the community, and serve as role models to their peers.
The La Fuerza Community Enhancement Award
Presented to graduating students in recognition of their outstanding contributions and commitment to diversity. These individuals have used their energy, spirit and leadership in initiating and implementing actions that help our campus community go beyond tolerance to create dialogue among people from diverse cultural groups.
The Award for Excellence by an Organizational Advisor
Presented to a recognized student organization advisor who demonstrates outstanding commitment to an organization by providing mentorship to the organization, supporting organizational programs and events, as well as ensuring successful leadership transitions within the organization.
One University Award
Presented to a student that recognize that the whole is greater than the sum of parts and aim to bring University stakeholders together for a common purpose. These students embody the mission of One University by efficiently and effectively working towards cultivating a collaborative campus community.
The Orange Award: Best SU Spirt
Presented to students who have demonstrated pride in Syracuse University by promoting, attending, and being involved in a variety of student orgs and events, demonstrating to other students the importance of being part of the Orange Nation.
The Innovation Award- Best New Organization, Initiative, or Event
Presented to registered student organizations who have created a brand new organization, event, or initiative for the first time this academic year. The organization made a conscious effort to promote, plan, implement and introduce innovative programs/initiatives that have not been addressed by previous planning or organizations
The 44 Stars Award: RSO of the Year
Presented to a registered student organization that has contributed to offering an unsurpassed student experience. This RSO has demonstrated excellence in collaboration with their advisor, the Office of Student Engagement, and any other governing offices that they routinely interact with. The RSO of the Year has also provided opportunities for each student, equitably, to become involved in their organization and has contributed to a positive campus culture.

44 Stars Gala Nomination Form

Please take a moment and nominate an RSO, student, and/or advisor for the awards above.  Please make sure to follow all the prompts and instructions on the form so that we can have a completed nomination. Nominations will close April 7th.