Retention Council

With a focus on the Syracuse University student experience, the Retention and Student Success Council examines, discovers and removes barriers surrounding students progressing through and completing degrees.

The council defines and/or helps implement student success strategies and graduation solutions consistent with the objectives of the 2015 Academic Strategic Plan, results of the 2015 Orange Survey administered to all matriculated undergraduate students, and census enrollment data exploring relationships between survey response and attrition/graduation. Additionally, the council provides support, advice and advocacy for current and future projects.

Retention and Student Success Council Members

Since retention is not solely an academic issue, improvements to persistence, progression and student success require the efforts of many people and offices across campus. Reflective of the Orange community, every committee member has a specific function tied to oversight, resources, recording of decisions and more.

Chris E. Johnson
College of Engineering and Computer Science professor and associate provost for academic affairs civil and environmental engineering

Kal Srinivas
Ph. D., director of student retention and success

Steven Bennett
Academic Affairs chief of staff and senior vice president for international programs and academic operations

Kelly Campbell
University Registrar

Paula Possenti-Perez
Director of the Office of Disability Services

Tommy Powell
Assistant provost for student-athlete academic development

Katie Rupert
Office of Academic Affairs academic programs specialist

Margaret Usdansky
Ph.D., director of the Center for Learning and Student Success (CLASS) and research associate professor

Maurice Alvin Harris
Dean of Undergraduate Admissions

Arthur O. Eve
Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP)/Student Support Services (SSS)

Craig Tucker
School of Education director of the Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP)

Steven Kelly
Office of the Treasurer, associate treasurer

Disha Manocha
Division of Marketing and Communications, marketing strategist

Michele Sipley
Director of Financial Aid

Naomi Shanguhyia
Ph.D., associate director of the Renee Crown University Honors Program

Jenny Gluck
Information Technology Services associate chief information officer for Academic Services

Samuel Scozzafava
Vice president for Information Technology and chief information officer

Amy Gardiner
Ph.D., Office of Institutional Research senior institutional planning analyst

Timothy Wasserman
Office of Institutional Research
assistant director 

College of Arts and Sciences | Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs:

Carol Faulkner
Ph.D., professor and associate dean for Academic Affairs

Steven Schaffling
Assistant dean of Student Success

College of Engineering and Computer Science:

Sinead Mac Namara
Ph.D., associate dean for Student Affairs and professor

College of Professional Studies:

Elizabeth Green
Executive director of Online Student Success

Rosemary Kelly
Assistant dean for Student Administrative Services

College of Visual and Performing Arts:

Carol Ruffin
Director of the Office of Academic and Career Advising

David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics:

James Byrne
J.D., CASAC, assistant dean of Student Services 

S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications:

Karen McGee
Assistant dean of Student Success

School of Architecture:

Karen Baris
Director of Advising and Records

School of Education:

Amie Redmond
Senior assistant dean for Academic and Student Services

School of Information Studies:

Kathryn Allen
Assistant dean of Student and Career Services  

Whitman School of Management:

Lindsay Quilty
Assistant dean for Undergraduate Programs

Carrie Grogan Abbott
Director of New Student and Family Programs

Dana Broadnax
Assistant Dean of Students and Dean of Students Office director of Student Assistance

Adam Capozzi
Director of Career Services 

Alison Fredericks
Student Outreach and Retention SummerStart program manager

Hopeton Smalling
Student Outreach and Retention functional business analyst

Juan Tavares
Director of the Center for International Services

Kris Klinger
Associate vice president for Auxiliary Services

Gillian Budman Kanter
Interim director of Housing, Meal Plan, and I.D. Card Services

Marie Kulikowsky
Syracuse Abroad assistant director of summer and faculty-led programs

Lisa Moeckel
Associate Dean for Academic Success

Kate Hanson
Director of the Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Engagement (The SOURCE)